• District Six Museum Staff

    Reception: +27(0)21 466 7200
    Fax: +27(0)21 466 7210
    e-mail: info@districtsix.co.za

    Director Bonita Bennett
    PA to the Director Nicky Ewers
    Collections Manager Chrischené Julius
    Museum attendant Edith Bulana
    Exhibitions Manager Tina Smith
    Coffee shop assistant Revina Gwayi
    Exhibitions & general maintenance Shafiek Boonzaaier
    Education Manager Mandy Sanger
    Education officer Joe Schaffers
    Education officer Noor Ebrahim
    Reception, administration and bookings Zahra Hendricks
    Front-of-house Thobeka Hobe

    District Six Museum Trustees, Honorary Members and Patrons

    Honorary Memebers

    Ruth Cookson
    Peggy Delport
    Terence Fredericks
    Lucien le Grange
    Lalou Meltzer
    Anwah Nagiah
    Crain Soudien
    Les van Breda


    Chairperson: Ciraj Rassool
    Deputy Chairperson: Gilbert Lawrence
    Kay Jaffer
    Premesh Lalu
    Alison Lazarus
    Nombulelo Mkefa
    Jean September
    Shaun Viljoen


    Ms Nadine Gordimer
    Bishop Peter Storey
    Emeritus Archbishop Desmond Tutu

    Ex-resident volunteers:

    Abubaker Brown
    Ruth and Desmond Jeftha
    Mercia Shoko

    Founding trustees and patrons who have passed on have not been included in the above list, but include Irwin Combrinck, Stan Abrahams and Vincent Kolbe - all of whom were pivotal to the creation of the Museum; as well as Professor Kader Asmal, who was a staunch patron for many years.